Autumn 2014 LookBook – Fall Flowers

photo 2-3And, Hello Again!

One of my favorite things about Autumn is the shift from sandals to boots, sundresses for flannels. It really is the best kind of trade-in, since too much of anything gets tiring after awhile. However, like I mentioned in the previous post, I live in the south and the transition to Autumn is more like a shift in spirit more than actual weather, at least… right now that is. The leaves probably won’t start falling till November, but that’s a minor setback! So what, if the weather is more warm and slightly breezy, rather than chilly sweater weather? We get those a few times a week too! If anything, this is the perfect opportunity that stretches out the closet-life of a few summer-to-fall transitional pieces! And you should know, I do love summer clothes.

This past Friday I went on a short adventure stroll in the city and stumbled on a Forever 21 on the corner of the street. As a college student, I am all about affordability, and Forever 21 is one of my favorite stores to wander in without worrying that a sweater will blow my budget. That said, you win some, and you lose some. By this I mean quality-wise, you really have to pick and choose since not everything is top-knotch. Most to all of my purchases from there need to be cold washed and laid flat to dry. However, don’t let this discourage you, because there are some really nice things there, they just might be a little more costly. The great thing about Forever 21 is that there are a multitude of styles to pick and choose from to your liking. The store itself is huge and a lot to take on, so I usually do a swift sweep through and if anything catches my eye, I will try it on and see where it goes. To sift through everything would be drastically overwhelming for me, but if you like a treasure hunting challenge, go for it!photo 1-3

Since it is Autumn, I like to dress in darker colors. In general, I’m not much of a color person. Darker, warmer, earth tones are definitely what I’m drawn towards during this time of the year. On friday, I found this very adorable romper at Forever 21. Rompers are more summer-y than autumn, but since the color was black, I thought it was something I could easily transition. My favorite thing about this romper are the sleeves which have a bit of ruffle detailing on the edges which gives it a sweeter look. The print, is also pretty awesome too. After all, I love fall and I love floral prints.

photo 3-2

I wore this outfit today on a weekend outing with my sister and to church. It was breezy warm outside so I just incorporated some sheer pantyhose to give it a more autumnal look. My shoes are just black with a little heel and bows, and I have on a gray Kate Spade shoulder bag. If it were to get colder outside, I think a knit cardigan thrown over could give it a a cozier look.

photo 4-2

Black Floral Romper: Forever 21

Shoes: Chinese Laundry

Purse: Small Loden Newberry Lane from Kate Spade

What do you think?

*This is part one of many parts to my Autumn LookBook. As I add more posts to the collection, you can view my pictures under the “Gallery” page.

Thank you for reading, and have a lovely day!

-M

P.S. Next week’s post will be Taylor Swift inspired since 1989 will be coming out! :)

 

 

Leave a Reply

